Skip to page body Home Information Center Election Center Business Center Licensing Center Securities Center Online Services

Press Releases

News Review
Names of Four Candidates to Appear on Special Election Ballot
Posted Date: 7/6/2011
Contact: Pam duPré
(775) 684-5748

(Carson City, NV; July 6, 2011) – Secretary of State Ross Miller’s Elections Division has informed Nevada’s 17 county clerks and registrars that the names of four candidates will appear on the ballot for the September 13th special election to fill the U.S. House vacancy. (See link below.)

Republican Mark Amodei and Democrat Kate Marshall were designated by their respective state party central committees, and Independent American Tim Fasano was designated by his party’s state executive committee.  No other parties designated a candidate. Independent Helmuth Lehmann qualified for the ballot by collecting the required 100 signatures from registered voters in Congressional District 2.

County elections officials were not able to validate the required number of signatures submitted by three individuals who had filed as Independent candidates; Earl Ammerman IV and Christopher Simon, both of Washoe County, and Roland Lee of Lyon County.

The deadline to submit petitions of candidacy (signatures) for Independent candidates and candidates from minor parties with no ballot access was May 18th , and the period for filing declarations of candidacy closed June 30th pursuant to court order.

Certified List of Candidates