Skip to page body Home Information Center Election Center Business Center Licensing Center Securities Center Online Services

FAQs

How do I register to vote?
What address do I use? My college residence address or my hometown address?
I am not a Nevada resident, but am attending college in Nevada, where can I register to vote?
I am a Nevada resident attending college outside of Nevada, where can I register to vote?
I am a Nevada resident attending college in Nevada, where can I register to vote?
How do I get an absent ballot for the upcoming elections?
I am unable to go to the polls on election day, how can I vote?
Where can I find the number of registered voters in Nevada?
When would I need to update my registration?
Who can register to vote?
How can I get a copy of the election laws in Nevada?
Where can I find a list of all of the pertinent election dates?
What are acceptable forms of ID?
Can I register to vote online?
May I vote if I’ve been convicted of a crime?
I just moved away to go to college, how do I vote in Nevada?
What is Early Voting?
What type of voting system does Nevada use?
I registered to vote at the DMV and the county says I’m not registered, what should I do?
Where do I send my voter registration form once I’ve filled it out?
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ...

Q: How do I register to vote?
A:

In order to register to vote, simply fill out a voter registration application form, which may be found at:

Return your completed application via mail or in person at: 

Q: What address do I use? My college residence address or my hometown address?
A:

As a college student, you may choose to register using your hometown address or your current campus home address. Keep in mind that you may register and vote in only one county/state per election. If you register using your hometown address, you will have to vote at either your designated voting precinct location in your hometown or by absentee ballot. To register in Nevada, there are certain guidelines you must follow before you can vote. Specifically, Nevada law states you must: 

  • Be at least 18 years of age on or before Election Day;

Primary Election – June 14, 2016
General Election – Nov. 8, 2016

  • Be a U.S. citizen; 
  • Be a resident of Nevada for 30 days preceding any election; 
  • Have your rights restored if you were convicted of a felony; and 
  • Not have been declared by a court to be mentally incompetent
Q: I am not a Nevada resident, but am attending college in Nevada, where can I register to vote?
A:
I am not a Nevada resident but am attending college in Nevada, where can I register to vote?
As a non-Nevada resident attending college in Nevada, your best option to register to vote is to obtain a copy of the Federal Voter Registration Application online at the Election Assistance Commission. Located the instructions for your home state and follow the guidelines for filling out and mailing back the application.

What address do I use? My college residence address or my hometown address?
If you wish to vote in your home state, you must provide your hometown residence address in your home state. You may also wish to contact the appropriate election official to obtain information on absentee voting procedures in your home state.

Under Nevada law, in order to vote in the state’s elections you must be a resident of Nevada for 30 days preceding any election. Therefore, if you wish to vote in Nevada, you must provide a Nevada residence address in your voter registration application.

Are there any requirements to register to vote in my state?
Voter registration requirements vary from state to state. To determine the requirements of your state, locate the instructions for your home state on the Federal Voter Registration Application found online at the Election Assistance Commission. You may also contact your County Clerk/Registrar of Voters to find out your state’s requirements.

Do I need to update my voter registration?
It is best to contact the local election official in your home state, as requirements may be different among states. In most states, the only time you will need to submit another voter registration form is if you have changed your physical address, your name or your party affiliation.

Where do I vote?
If you are a student living out of state, it may not be possible for you to get to the polls on Election Day. Your best option is to request to vote by mail or absentee ballot.
To vote by mail or absentee you must contact the local election official in your home state and request an absentee ballot. Be sure to find out your home state’s requirements to vote absentee and deadlines for turning in your ballot.

Q: I am a Nevada resident attending college outside of Nevada, where can I register to vote?
A:
I am a Nevada resident attending college outside of Nevada, where can I register to vote?
As a Nevada resident attending college out of state, your best option to register to vote is to obtain a copy of the Federal Voter Registration Application online at the Election Assistance Commission. Locate the instructions for the state of Nevada and follow the guidelines for completing the application. Once you have the application completed, mail it back to your local County Clerk/Registrar of Voters' office.

You may also contact your local County Clerk/Registrar of Voters' office and ask to have a voter registration application mailed to your college residence. Once you receive the application, fill it out completely and mail it back to your local County Clerk/Registrar of Voters' office.

What address do I use? My college residence address or my hometown address?
Under Nevada law, in order to vote in the state’s elections you must be a resident of Nevada for 30 days preceding any election. Therefore, if you wish to vote in Nevada, you must provide a Nevada residence address in your voter registration application.

Are there any requirements to register to vote in Nevada?
Nevada law provides certain guidelines you must follow before you can vote. Specifically, Nevada law states that you must:

•  Be at least 18 years of age on or before Election Day;
•  Be a U.S. citizen;
•  Be a resident of Nevada for 30 days preceding any election;
•  Have your rights restored if you were convicted of a felony; and
•  Not have been declared by a court to be mentally incompetent

Do I need to update my voter registration?
The only time you will need to submit another voter registration form is if you have changed your physical address, your name or your party affiliation.

Where do I vote?
If you are a student living out of state, it may not be possible for you to get to the polls in your home town on Election Day. Your best option is to request to vote by mail or absentee ballot.
Any registered voter may request to vote by mail. To request an absentee ballot, you must complete and submit an Absentee Ballot Request Form, which may be obtained from your local County Clerk/Registrar of Voters office. Additional information on absentee voting is also available online.

Clark County residents: Absentee Voter Information
Washoe County residents: Absentee Voter Information

The Absentee Ballot Request Form must be received by your local county election official by the appropriate deadline.

•  Primary Election Absent Ballot Request Deadline (NRS 293.315)

•  General Election Absent Ballot Request Deadline (NRS 293.315)

If you are a first time voter, you must provide an acceptable form of identification with your completed Absentee Ballot Request Form. Acceptable forms of identification may include:

•  Current Nevada Drivers’ License;
•  Current Nevada State Identification Card;
•  Rent receipt with pre-printed address;
•  Bank statement or pre-printed check;
•  Credit card statement;
•  Vehicle registration or proof of insurance;
•  Government document (tax bill, income information); or
•  Current utility bill.

Contact your County Clerk/Registrar of Voters or the Elections Division of the Secretary of State’s Office if you have any questions regarding absentee voting.
It’s best to submit your request form early in order to allow enough time for your request to be processed, and for you to receive your ballot in a timely manner. All voted absentee ballots MUST be received by 7 p.m. on Election Day in order to be counted.

How do I use the voting machine?
Using the voting machine is simple, click here to learn how.

Q: I am a Nevada resident attending college in Nevada, where can I register to vote?
A:

If you are a college student attending school in a different county than your permanent residence, you may choose to register using your hometown address or your current campus home address. Keep in mind that you may register and vote in only one county per election. If you register using your hometown address, you will have to vote at either your designated voting precinct location or by absentee ballot.

Where can I register to vote?
In order to register to vote, simply fill out a voter registration application form, which may be found at:

Your university Student Affairs office
Your County Clerk/Registrar of Voters' office
Online at the Election Assistance Commission
Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles
Your City Clerk’s office
United States Post Office
Utility Companies 
Political Party Offices
Local Chambers of Commerce

Return your completed application via mail or in person at:

•  Your County Clerk/Registrar of Voters office;
•  Your City Clerk Office; or
•  Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles

What address do I use? My college residence address or my hometown address?
As a Nevada resident attending college in Nevada, you may choose to register using your hometown address or your current campus home address. Keep in mind that you may register and vote in only one county/state per election. If you register using your hometown address, you will have to vote at either your designated voting precinct location in your hometown or by absentee ballot.

Are there any requirements to register to vote in Nevada?
Nevada law provides certain guidelines you must follow before you can vote. Specifically, Nevada law states you must:

•  Be at least 18 years of age on or before Election Day;
•  Be a U.S. citizen;
•  Be a resident of Nevada for 30 days preceding any election;
•  Have your rights restored if you were convicted of a felony; and
•  Not have been declared by a court to be mentally incompetent

Do I need to update my voter registration?
The only time you will need to submit another voter registration form is if you have changed your physical address, your name, or your party affiliation.

Where do I vote?
Your voting location depends on the address you used when completing your voter registration application. If you registered to vote using your hometown address, you will have to vote at either your designated voting precinct location in your hometown or by absentee ballot. If you chose to use your college residence address, you will vote at your designated voting precinct location in the district of that you currently reside. You may find your designated polling location on your sample ballot or by viewing “My Voter File” on the Nevada Secretary State’s website.

To confirm your registration, you will receive a voter registration card by mail. If you do not receive this, please contact your local City Clerk or County Clerk/Registrar of Voters to verify your application was received and processed.

How do I request to vote by mail or absentee?
If you are a student living outside of your voting precinct, it may not be possible for you to get to the polls on Election Day. Your best option is to request to vote by mail or absentee ballot.
Any registered voter may request to vote by mail. To request an absentee ballot, you must complete and submit an Absentee Ballot Request Form, which may be obtained from your local County Clerk/Registrar of Voters office. Additional information on absentee voting is also available online.

Clark County residents: Absentee Voter Information
Washoe County residents: Absentee Voter Information

The Absentee Ballot Request Form must be received by your local county election official by the appropriate deadline.

•  Primary Election Absent Ballot Request Deadline (NRS 293.315) 

•  General Election Absent Ballot Request Deadline (NRS 293.315)

If you are a first time voter, you must provide an acceptable form of identification with your completed Absentee Ballot Request Form. Acceptable forms of identification may include:

•  Current Nevada Drivers’ License;
•  Current Nevada State Identification Card;
•  Rent receipt with pre-printed address;
•  Bank statement or pre-printed check;
•  Credit card statement;
•  Vehicle registration or proof of insurance;
•  Government document (tax bill, income information); or
•  Current utility bill.

Contact your County Clerk/Registrar of Voters or the Elections Division of the Secretary of State’s Office if you have any questions regarding absentee voting.
It’s best to submit your request form early in order to allow enough time for your request to be processed, and for you to receive your ballot in a timely manner. All voted absentee ballots MUST be received by 7 p.m. on Election Day in order to be counted.

How do I use the voting machine?
Using the voting machine is simple, click here to learn how

Q: How do I get an absent ballot for the upcoming elections?
A:
An absent ballot may be obtained from the County Clerk/Registrar of Voters in the county in which you reside. Please contact their office for details.
Q: I am unable to go to the polls on election day, how can I vote?
A:
You may request an absent ballot or vote during early voting.
Q: Where can I find the number of registered voters in Nevada?
A:
This office compiles the number of registered voters in Nevada monthly and for the close of registration for every State election. These reports can be obtained from the Voter Registration Statistics section on our website or by contacting this office by phone or email.
Q: When would I need to update my registration?
A:
You will need to submit another voter registration indicating your current information if you have changed your physical address, your name, or your party affiliation.  You may update your information on our website here.
Q: Who can register to vote?
A:
Nevada law provides that you must be 18 years of age or over, a U.S. Citizen, and a resident of Nevada for 30 days preceding any election. If you will be 18 years old or will have met the residency requirement at the time of the election, you are also eligible to register to vote. Any person who has been declared by a court to be mentally incompetent is not eligible to register and vote. Felons who have not been restored to their civil rights are not eligible to register and vote; however, recent legislation has provided for automatic restoration of the right to vote for those who have been honorably discharged from prison, probation or parole, with certain exceptions related to the seriousness of the crime committed. For more information, see the restoration of voting rights page.
Q: How can I get a copy of the election laws in Nevada?
A:
This office publishes the Nevada election laws every two years. You may access the full text from our Statutes & Regulations page.
Q: Where can I find a list of all of the pertinent election dates?
A:
This office publishes an Election Calendar each even-numbered year listing the pertinent dates for the election cycle and citations to the relevant Nevada statutes and administrative regulations. You may also obtain an Election Calendar free of charge by contacting this office at: nvelect@sos.nv.gov or 775-684-5705 and providing us with your name and address. The full election calendar will be available in due course after the end of the Legislative Session.
Q: What are acceptable forms of ID?
A:

Acceptable forms of identification include a current and valid form from the following:

  • Nevada Driver’s license
  • Nevada Identification Card
  • Armed Forces Identification Card
  • Sheriff’s Work Identification Card
  • Identification Card issued by an Agency of the State of Nevada or other political subdivision
  • Student Identification Card
  • United States Passport
  • Tribal Identification Card
  • Other forms of identification may be used, please check with your County Clerk/Registrar of Voters for other acceptable forms of identification.
Q: Can I register to vote online?
A:
Yes, you may register to vote online on our website here.
Q: May I vote if I’ve been convicted of a crime?
A:
If you were convicted of a felony, you may register and vote only if you have had your rights restored.
Q: I just moved away to go to college, how do I vote in Nevada?
A:

If you are a student living out of state or outside your voting precinct, it may not be possible for you to get to the polls on Election Day. Your best option is to request to vote by mail or absentee ballot.
Any registered voter may request to vote by mail. To request an absentee ballot, you must complete and submit an Absentee Ballot Request Form, which may be obtained from your local County Clerk/Registrar of Voters office. Additional information on absentee voting is also available online.

Clark County residents: Absentee Voter Information
Washoe County residents: Absentee Voter Information

The Absentee Ballot Request Form must be received by your local county election official by the appropriate deadline.

Primary Election Absent Ballot Request Deadline (NRS 293.315)

General Election Absent Ballot Request Deadline (NRS 293.315)

If you are a first time voter, you must provide an acceptable form of identification with your completed Absentee Ballot Request Form. Acceptable forms of identification may include:

• Current Nevada Drivers’ License;
• Current Nevada State Identification Card;
• Rent receipt with pre-printed address;
• Bank statement or pre-printed check;
• Credit card statement;
• Vehicle registration or proof of insurance;
• Government document (tax bill, income information); or
• Current utility bill.

Q: What is Early Voting?
A:

Early voting allows registered voters to vote at various locations throughout the state for 14-day period prior to the Primary Election and General Election. To learn more about Early Voting in Nevada, click here.

Q: What type of voting system does Nevada use?
A:

Nevada uses Sequoia Edge electronic touch-screen voting machines throughout the state at all polling locations. Click here to learn how to use the voting machine.

Q: I registered to vote at the DMV and the county says I’m not registered, what should I do?
A:

If you completed a voter registration application at the Department of Vehicles, and the county says you are not registered to vote, you must contact the County Clerk/Registrar of Voters in your county of residence.

Q: Where do I send my voter registration form once I’ve filled it out?
A:

If you are registering to vote in Nevada, return your completed application via mail or in person at:

Your County Clerk/Registrar of Voters office;
Your City Clerk Office; or
Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ...