Title 7 of Nevada Revised Statutes allows the Secretary of State’s office to investigate complaints and take action against those found to be non-compliant with the filing and business license requirements necessary to do business in Nevada. Businesses which willfully fail or neglect to comply with registration requirements and/or fail to obtain and maintain a state business license pursuant to Nevada Revised Statutes may be subject to a fine of not less than $1,000, but not more than $10,000, to be recovered by a court of competent jurisdiction. The Secretary of State may refer any non-compliant business to the Attorney General's office or respective District Attorney for further investigation. Actions subject to complaint and possible administrative action pursuant to NRS include without limitation:
- Conducting business in Nevada as a NRS Title 7 entity (Corporation, LLC, etc.) without filing the appropriate organizational documents (proper registration) with the Secretary of State.
- Sole Proprietors, Partnerships, or others doing business in Nevada without maintaining a state business license with the Secretary of State.
- NRS Title 7 entities conducting business in Nevada while in a revoked, permanently revoked, dissolved, merged out, or any status other than active or default.
Forms (the forms may be downloaded or completed online before printing. If you are unable to do so, please contact Customer Service at (775) 684-5708)
Entity Registration/Business License Compliance Report Form
Entity Registration/Business License Compliance Response Form
The complaint must be submitted on a form prescribed by the Secretary of State.
Upon receipt of the complaint the Secretary of State will review the complaint and determine whether the complaint may be resolved through the administrative process and if the complaint should be referred to another regulatory or enforcement agency for further investigation.
The Secretary of State may refer the information obtained in a complaint or through the associated investigation to other entities for further investigation.
After review if the Secretary of State determines the complaint may be resolved through the administrative process the complainant will receive a letter acknowledging receipt of the complaint. A letter and a form requesting information will then be sent to the “respondent” (person who offered the documents to the Secretary of State allegedly in violation of NRS).
The respondent has 30 days from the date of the letter to respond. If there is no response, the Secretary of State will assume that the business is in violation of the statutory registration and/or state business license requirements and the complaint will be forwarded to the Attorney General or respective District Attorney for further investigation.Non-compliant businesses may avoid further investigation by submitting the required forms and fees to the Secretary of State.
Please remit to:
Secretary of State
Commercial Recordings Division
Attn: Fraudulent Filings
202 N. Carson Street
Carson City, NV 89701