Skip to page body Home Information Center Election Center Business Center Licensing Center Securities Center Online Services

Press Releases

News Review
NASS President Ross Miller Names Committee Leadership
Posted Date: 8/2/2012

Contact: Catherine Lu 
             (702) 486-6982 / 334-7953 

(Washington, DC; August 2, 2012) – Nevada Secretary of State Ross Miller conducted his first official act as president of the National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS) by appointing the organization’s bipartisan slate of committee chairs for the 2012-2013 cycle.

“This year's committee leadership represents a broad and diverse array of state officials with a strong commitment to our association and its mission,” said Secretary Miller. “I look forward to working with them on major initiatives that will support our shared interests in elections, business services, state heritage, international relations, securities regulation and other important areas.”

The following members agreed to serve as NASS committee leaders during the 2012-2013 cycle:

Standing Committee on Elections
Hon. A. Ralph Mollis, Rhode Island
Hon. Jason Gant, South Dakota

Elections Committee Task Force on the Disposition of EAC Duties
Hon. Ken Bennett, Arizona
Hon. Natalie Tennant, West Virginia

Elections Subcommittee on Presidential Primaries
Hon. Brian Kemp, Georgia
Hon. William Gardner, New Hampshire

Standing Committee on Voter Participation
Hon. Denise Merrilll, Connecticut
Hon. Matt Schultz, Iowa

Standing Committee on Business Services
Hon. Scott Gessler, Colorado
Hon. Kenneth McClintock, Puerto Rico

NASS Company Formation Task Force of the Business Services Committee
Hon. Charlie Summers, Maine
Hon. Natalie Tennant, West Virginia

Standing Committee on International Relations
Hon. Cynthia Brock-Smith, District of Columbia
Hon. Hope Andrade, Texas

Standing Committee on Securities
Hon. Bill Galvin, Massachusetts
Hon. Delbert Hosemann, Jr., Mississippi

Standing Committee on State Heritage
Hon. Tom Schedler, Louisiana
Hon. Mark Ritchie, Minnesota

Standing Committee on Awards
Hon. Al Jaeger, North Dakota
Hon. Ross Miller, Nevada

Committee leadership assignments are based upon member preferences and experience, as well as criteria established by NASS bylaws. Each NASS committee is led by co-chairs representing different political parties. This year's committee co-chairs will serve until July 2013.

NASS provides committee descriptions and rosters at the following link:  

About NASS
Founded in 1904, the National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS) is the nation's oldest, nonpartisan professional organization for state officials. Members included the 50 states, the District of Columbia, American Samoa and Puerto Rico. NASS serves as a medium for the exchange of information between states and fosters cooperation in the development of public policy. The association has key initiatives in the areas of elections and voting, state business services, and digital archiving, as well as several well-established awards programs.

# # #