For Immediate Release
Contact: Catherine Lu
(702) 486-6982 / 334-7953
(Carson City, NV; February 29, 2012) — Candidate filing for non-judicial offices on the 2012 ballot will take place between 8 a.m. on Monday, March 5 through 5 p.m. on Friday, March 16. Secretary of State Ross Miller encourages candidates filing at the Secretary of State’s office to schedule appointments in advance with Elections Division filing officers in Carson City or Las Vegas.
Candidates for U.S. Senate, U.S. Congressional Districts, State Senate, State Assembly, Board of Regents and Board of Education seats that cross county lines file their Declarations of Candidacy with the Secretary of State’s office. Candidates running in districts located wholly within a single county file their Declarations with their County Clerk/Registrar of Voters or, for municipal races, with their City Clerk.
Special Note: The following State Senate seats recently vacated will be open for filing only during the upcoming candidate filing period: Senate District 9 (Clark County) and Senate District 13 (Washoe County). Interested candidates file for these offices with the respective Voter Registrar.
Candidates should call the Elections Division at 775-684-5705 to schedule their appointments during regular business hours (8 a.m. to 5 p.m.) between March 5 and March 16. Appointments will be scheduled on a first call-first served basis. Elections Division staff will do their best to accommodate individuals’ schedules. Candidates who drop in to file without an appointment may have to wait until a filing officer is available.
Candidates running for the following offices must file with the Secretary of State and pay the statutory filing fee as listed below:
U.S. Senate - $500
U.S. Congressional Districts 2 and 4 - $300
State Senate District 19 - $100
Assembly Districts 32, 33, 36, 38, 39, 40 - $100
State Board of Education Districts 2 and 4 - $200
University Board of Regents District 9 - no filing fee*
*No filing fee is required for an office where no compensation is received.
Payment must be by cash, certified check, or cashier’s check. Under state law, personal checks and credit cards cannot be accepted.
Office of the Secretary of State Ross Miller
Nevada State Capitol
101 N. Carson St., Suite 3
Grant Sawyer Building
555 E. Washington Ave., Suite 5200