
 
 

FINANCIAL IMPACT OF THE REFERENDUM ON SB483 PETITION 
 

FINANCIAL IMPACT – YES 
 
OVERVIEW 
 
The Referendum on SB483 petition (Referendum) proposes to seek voter approval or disapproval 
of the provisions of Senate Bill 483 of the 2015 Legislative Session, which was approved by the 
Legislature on June 1, 2015, and signed by the Governor on June 9, 2015. 
 
Pursuant to Article 19, Section 1 of the Nevada Constitution, a referendum proposing to approve or 
disapprove any statute or resolution, or part thereof, enacted by the Legislature is to be submitted 
to the voters at the next succeeding election at which the question may be voted on by the 
registered voters of the entire state.  If the majority of the voters approve the statute or resolution, it 
shall stand as the law of the state and may not be amended, annulled, repealed, set aside, 
suspended, or in any way made inoperative without a direct vote of the people.  If the majority of 
the voters reject the statute or resolution, it becomes void and has no effect, effective upon the 
canvass of the votes by the Nevada Supreme Court.   
 
Pursuant to NRS 295.045, the question that would be placed on the ballot regarding approval or 
disapproval of Senate Bill 483 of the 2015 Legislative Session would require the voter to decide 
whether he or she approves the provisions of the bill.  The Referendum would appear on the 2016 
General Election ballot on November 8, 2016, if it qualifies for submission, and the result of the 
ballot question would become effective on November 22, 2016, pursuant to NRS 293.395, upon the 
canvass of the votes by the Nevada Supreme Court. 
 
The following provides a summary of the provisions approved by the Legislature and the Governor 
in Senate Bill 483 of the 2015 Session, as well as an explanation of the effect of approval or 
disapproval of the provisions of the bill. 
 
Local School Support Tax (Sales and Use Tax) 
 
The Local School Support Tax portion of the statewide sales and use tax was permanently 
increased by 0.35 percent from 2.25 percent to 2.60 percent, effective July 1, 2015.  The Local 
School Support Tax rate was increased by 0.35 percent during the 2013 Legislative Session, but 
was scheduled to sunset effective July 1, 2015, based on the 2013 legislation. 
 
A vote to approve the provisions of Senate Bill 483 of the 2015 Session would retain the  
0.35 percent increase in the Local School Support Tax rate.  A vote to disapprove the provisions of 
Senate Bill 483 of the 2015 Session would repeal the 0.35 percent increase in the Local School 
Support Tax rate, reducing this portion from 2.60 percent to 2.25 percent, effective November 22, 
2016. 
   
Modified Business Tax – General Businesses 
 
The Modified Business Tax on general businesses was permanently increased from 0.63 percent 
on all quarterly taxable wages paid to employees to 1.475 percent on quarterly taxable wages in 
excess of $50,000, effective July 1, 2015.  The Modified Business Tax rate on general businesses 



 
 

was set at 1.17 percent on quarterly taxable wages in excess of $85,000 during the 2013 
Legislative Session, but was scheduled to sunset back to the 0.63 percent rate on all quarterly 
taxable wages, effective July 1, 2015, based on the 2013 legislation. 
 
A vote to approve the provisions of Senate Bill 483 of the 2015 Session would retain the  
current rate of 1.475 percent on quarterly taxable wages in excess of $50,000.  A vote to 
disapprove the provisions of Senate Bill 483 of the 2015 Session would reduce the rate to  
0.63 percent on all quarterly taxable wages, beginning with the payment due for the second quarter 
of Fiscal Year 2017 (October – December 2016), which would be paid on or before January 31, 
2017. 
 
Modified Business Tax – Mining 
 
The Modified Business Tax rate on mining companies subject to the Net Proceeds of Minerals Tax 
was increased from 0.63 percent on all quarterly taxable wages, effective July 1, 2015, to 2 percent 
on all quarterly taxable wages.   
 
A vote to approve the provisions of Senate Bill 483 of the 2015 Session would retain the  
current rate of 2 percent on all quarterly taxable wages for these companies.  A vote to disapprove 
the provisions of Senate Bill 483 of the 2015 Session would reduce the rate to 0.63 percent on all 
quarterly taxable wages, beginning with the payment due for the second quarter of Fiscal Year 
2017 (October – December 2016), which would be paid on or before January 31, 2017. 
 
Nevada Commerce Tax 
 
The Nevada Commerce Tax is a new tax that will be paid by certain businesses that have at least  
$4 million in Nevada gross revenue during a taxable year, based on their industry-specific tax rate.  
The first payment of the tax is due August 15, 2016, for the taxable year ending on June 30, 2016. 
 
Beginning in Fiscal Year 2017 (July 1, 2016 – June 30, 2017), a business that pays the Nevada 
Commerce Tax may take a credit of up to 50 percent of the Commerce Tax paid for the previous 
fiscal year against the business’s Modified Business Tax liability in the current fiscal year. 
 
A vote to approve the provisions of Senate Bill 483 of the 2015 Session would require businesses 
who have at least $4 million in Nevada gross revenue during a taxable year to continue paying the 
Nevada Commerce Tax as required pursuant to current law and would allow businesses to 
continue receiving the credit of up to 50 percent of the Commerce Tax paid against the business’s 
Modified Business Tax liability.  A vote to disapprove the provisions of Senate Bill 483 of the  
2015 Session would repeal the provisions of the Commerce Tax, which eliminates this tax liability 
beginning with the taxable year ending on June 30, 2017.  The credit of up to 50 percent of the 
Commerce Tax paid for the prior fiscal year against the current fiscal year Modified Business Tax 
liability would also be repealed effective with the Modified Business Tax payment due for the 
second quarter of Fiscal Year 2017 (October – December 2016), which would be paid on or before 
January 31, 2017. 
 
 
 
 



 
 

Net Proceeds of Minerals Tax 
 
Mining companies required to pay the Net Proceeds of Minerals Tax will be required to make an 
estimated payment of taxes due for calendar year 2016 on or before March 1, 2016.  The mining 
company may not deduct expenses relating to health and industrial insurance in determining the 
net proceeds used to estimate the company’s tax liability for calendar year 2016 when making that 
payment. 
 
A vote to approve the provisions of Senate Bill 483 of the 2015 Session would retain the current  
provisions relating to the Net Proceeds of Minerals Tax.  A vote to disapprove the provisions of 
Senate Bill 483 of the 2015 Session would allow mining companies to deduct health and industrial 
insurance in determining Net Proceeds of Minerals Tax liability for calendar year 2016. 
 
Governmental Services Tax 
 
Effective July 1, 2015, 100 percent of the proceeds from the state portion of the Governmental 
Services Tax are to be deposited in the State General Fund.  Effective July 1, 2016, 50 percent of 
the proceeds from this portion of the tax are to be deposited in the State Highway Fund and  
50 percent are to be deposited into the State General Fund.  Effective July 1, 2017, 100 percent of 
the proceeds from the state portion of the tax are to be deposited in the State Highway Fund.  
Based on legislation enacted in 2013, the state portion of the Governmental Services Tax was to 
be deposited in the State General Fund until June 30, 2015, and was scheduled to be deposited in 
the State Highway Fund after that date. 
 
A vote to approve the provisions of Senate Bill 483 of the 2015 Session would retain the current  
provisions relating to the distribution of the state portion of the Governmental Services Tax.  A vote 
to disapprove the provisions of Senate Bill 483 of the 2015 Session would require that 100 percent 
of the proceeds of the state portion of the Governmental Services Tax be deposited in the State 
Highway Fund, beginning with the distribution of November 2016 tax revenue that would be made 
in December 2016. 
 
Business License Fee 
 
The annual business license fee paid to the Secretary of State’s Office was permanently increased 
from $100 to $200 for all business types except corporations, effective July 1, 2015.  The annual 
fee for corporations was increased from $100 to $500, effective July 1, 2015.  The annual business 
license fee was set at $200 on all business types during the 2013 Legislative Session, but was 
scheduled to sunset back to $100 on all business types, effective July 1, 2015. 
 
A vote to approve the provisions of Senate Bill 483 of the 2015 Session would retain the annual 
business license fee of $500 for corporations and $200 for all other entities.  A vote to disapprove 
the provisions of Senate Bill 483 of the 2015 Session would reduce the annual business license fee 
to $100 for all business entities, beginning with entities obtaining a new business license on or after 
November 22, 2016, and for entities renewing a business license with an expiration date on or after 
November 30, 2016. 
 
 
 



 
 

Business Entity Filing Fees 
 
The filing fees for initial and annual lists for business entities formed through the Secretary of 
State’s Office was increased by $25, effective July 1, 2015.  
 
A vote to approve the provisions of Senate Bill 483 of the 2015 Session would retain the increased 
fee for initial and annual lists for business entities formed through the Secretary of State’s Office.  A 
vote to disapprove the provisions of Senate Bill 483 of the 2015 Session would eliminate the 
additional $25 fee for all lists filed for new entities on or after November 22, 2016, and for existing 
entities filing a list due on or after November 30, 2016. 
 
Cigarette Tax 
  
The excise tax on cigarettes was increased, effective July 1, 2015, from 40 mills per cigarette  
(80 cents per pack of 20) to 90 mills per cigarette ($1.80 per pack of 20). 
 
A vote to approve the provisions of Senate Bill 483 of the 2015 Session would retain the increase in 
the excise tax on cigarettes.  A vote to disapprove the provisions of Senate Bill 483 of the 2015 
Session would reduce the tax from 90 mills per cigarette ($1.80 per pack of 20) to 40 mills per 
cigarette (80 cents per pack of 20), effective November 22, 2016. 
 
Court Fees 
 
A $100 fee is required to be collected by courts from persons who plead guilty, guilty but mentally 
ill, or nolo contendre, or who are found guilty of driving under the influence of intoxicating liquor or a 
controlled substance, which is deposited in a fund administered by the Office of the Court 
Administrator to pay for certain specialty court programs, effective July 1, 2015, until June 30, 
2017.  This $100 fee was approved during the 2013 Legislative Session, but was scheduled to 
sunset effective July 1, 2015, based on the 2013 legislation. 
 
A vote to approve the provisions of Senate Bill 483 of the 2015 Session would continue the 
imposition of this fee until June 30, 2017.  A vote to disapprove the provisions of Senate Bill 483 of 
the 2015 Session would eliminate the fee, effective November 22, 2016. 
 
FINANCIAL IMPACT OF THE INITIATIVE 
 
If a majority of the voters approve the provisions of Senate Bill 483, those provisions would remain 
in effect, and the Referendum on SB483 petition would result in no financial impact upon state or 
local government. 
 
If a majority of the voters disapprove of the provisions of Senate Bill 483, the Fiscal Analysis 
Division estimates that the disapproval of those provisions would negatively impact the State 
General Fund budget in Fiscal Year 2017 (July 1, 2016 – June 30, 2017) by approximately  
$540.0 million from the loss of revenue to the State General Fund and the Distributive School 
Account.  Additionally, the Fiscal Analysis Division estimates that the transfer of 50 percent of the 
state portion of the Governmental Services Tax from the State General Fund to the State Highway 
Fund will increase revenue in the State Highway Fund by approximately $21.4 million in  
Fiscal Year 2017. 



 
 

 
Based on the Fiscal Analysis Division’s revenue estimates for Fiscal Year 2017, the revenue loss to 
the State General Fund and the State Distributive School Account that would result from the repeal 
of the provisions of Senate Bill 483 is estimated to be approximately $667.3 million in subsequent 
fiscal years, based on an assumption of no growth in these revenue sources in Fiscal Year 2018 or 
future fiscal years. 
 
In addition to the revenue loss relating to the State General Fund budget, the elimination of the 
deduction for health and industrial insurance expenses from the Net Proceeds of Minerals Tax in 
calendar year 2016 will result in a reduction of revenues from this tax dedicated to the State 
Consolidated Bond Interest and Redemption Fund and to local governments in Fiscal Year 2017 
and to school districts in Fiscal Year 2018.  The Fiscal Analysis Division has not prepared an 
estimate of the specific revenue loss that would be incurred by these entities. 
 
Based on information received from the Department of Taxation and the Secretary of State’s Office, 
the disapproval of the provisions of Senate Bill 483 of the 2015 Session would result in increased 
expenditures relating to administrative changes caused by the repeal of the various taxes and fees 
contained within the Referendum; however, these agencies did not estimate the costs necessary to 
administer these provisions.  The Department of Taxation additionally indicated that additional staff 
that was approved by the Legislature during the 2015 Session for administration of the Commerce 
Tax could be eliminated if the provisions of Senate Bill 483 are disapproved; however, the 
Department did not estimate the number of positions that could be eliminated, nor did it estimate 
the cost savings that could result from the elimination of these positions. 
 
The Governor’s Finance Office has indicated that, because the effective date of the Referendum 
falls within the period in which the Office will be building the Governor’s Executive Budget for the 
2017-19 biennium, it would require additional personnel in order to make any necessary 
adjustments to the state government budget relating to the potential financial impact from the 
repeal of Senate Bill 483 of the 2015 Session.  The Office has estimated that it would require three 
positions for a period of three months, which would result in the expenditure of approximately 
$91,000.  
 
The elimination of the $100 fee collected by the courts would result in a reduction of revenue 
dedicated to certain specialty court programs, effective November 22, 2016.  The Fiscal Analysis 
Division, however, cannot determine whether the elimination of this fee will adversely affect these 
specialty court programs for the remainder of Fiscal Year 2017 (November 22, 2016 – June 30, 
2017) with any reasonable degree of certainty. 
 
The Department of Motor Vehicles indicated that the changes in distribution of the state portion of 
the Governmental Services Tax that would result from disapproval of Senate Bill 483 of the 2015 
Session would have no financial impact upon the agency.  
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