Press Releases

Secretary of State Cegavske Announces the Publication of the 2016 Political History of Nevada

Post Date:05/26/2017 4:14 PM

Secretary of State Banner

Contact: Kent Alexander
(702) 486-6982

(Carson City, Nevada; May 26, 2017) – Nevada Secretary of State Barbara Cegavske announces the publication of the 2016 edition of the Political History of Nevada book.  The book, typically published every ten years by the Secretary of State's office, chronicles the individuals who have held elected office in Nevada and includes an extensive collection of historical and political data.  The 2016 book is the 12th edition published by the Office of the Secretary of State – the first version was published in pamphlet form in 1910 by then Secretary of State William Douglas.  "Compiling an accurate and relevant historical reference of the Silver State’s elections and previous public servants was very important to the office and those who contributed to this significant effort," said Cegavske.

The 2016 edition of the Political History of Nevada was produced jointly with the Research Division of the Legislative Counsel Bureau and was printed and bound by Silver State Industries.  The book is dedicated to two prominent Nevada lawmakers:  Senator Bill Raggio and Assemblyman Joe Dini. Carol Vilardo, long-time president of the Nevada Taxpayers Association, is also recognized in the dedication section.  A ceremony acknowledging the publication of the book is scheduled to take place, Thursday, June 1 at 10:00 am in the Old Assembly Chambers in the Nevada State Capitol.  Members of the public are welcome to attend.


Return to full list >>